Skip to content

Trophy Cup Finale Pre Race Report – Points And Format for Tonight

Sprint Car Insider – Trophy Cup 25 TULARE, Ca. (October 20, 2018) Dominic Scelzi leads the way into tonight’s 25th Annual Trophy Cup finale by just one point over Wooster, Ohio’s, two-time, Trophy Cup Champion Jac Haudenshield.

Haudenshield came away with the night two win over Tim Shaffer and Cory Eliason to move himself into the runner up bid. Dominic Scelzi occupies the third position just three points down after his standout charge on Thursday night. Thursday nights winner Mitchell Faccinto sits in fourth tied with Gio Scelzi at 272 and Cory Eliason rounds out the top 5.

Sixth through tenth is represented by Tim Shaffer 6th, Justin Cox 7th, Craig Stitham 8th, Jason Solwold 9th, and the two time defending champion Shane Golobic 10th. Only three previous winners, Jac Haudenshield, and Craig Stitham, and Shane Golobic sit inside the top ten going into the final night.

Other notable drivers sitting in contention are Rico Abreu in 11th, 2014 champ Willie Croft in 15th and Carson Macedo sitting in 21st. But remember, the Trophy Cup Champion will not be tonight’s winner but the highest overall point earner.

Saturday’s Trophy Cup format goes as followed.

The Saturday Format here at the trophy cup starts with D mains. Then the top 48 cars in points advance to heat races. The highest point driver in each heat will start in the back. As aforementioned this format is set to resemble an old Super Modified format, every race is full invert. Highest totaled points drivers will start in the back of their heat and race to accumulate the most points. Heat races pay 36 points to win and subtract by three for every position there after, so second would receive 33, third 30, and so on.

Following heat races the main events will be lined up by total points. First through twentieth lock directly into the main. In the main event the highest earning point drivers will once again be fully inverted 1st through 20th, followed by the four transfers out of the B.

Tonight’s Trophy Cup finale will be going 50 laps with an open red in the middle. The winner is awarded 150 points and minus three on after.


With points so close heading into tonight’s finale there are many drivers still more than alive. Anything can happen here on the final night and recent history says it just might.

Don’t forget to tag us in your post when using the hashtag #trophycup25 to show you’re following Sprint Car Insider.

Thursday Night podium: 1st Mitchell Faccinto (center) 2nd Giovanni Scelzi (left) 3rd Dominic Scelzi (right) photo by – mm racing photos.

Friday Night Podium: 1st Jac Haudenshield (center) 2nd Tim Shaffer (left) 3rd Cory Eliason (right) – photo by – mm racing photos

Make sure to follow Sprint Car Insider on Facebook, @SCI_updates on twitter or visit our website – for or all of the updates on the Silver Anniversary of the Trophy Cup presented by Rudeen Racing and Rico Abreu.

Follow us: –

Facebook: Sprint Car Insider –

Twitter: @SCI_updates –

Instagram:  – @sprintcarinsider

Interested in obtaining Sprint Car Insiders services or becoming a marketing partner? We have options available for all levels of support. We strive to leverage the most effective means of adding value to our partners with unique but proven, practices.

Feel Free to give a ring or shoot an email anytime –

Contact:   Or (559) 284-2438 for more details.

Make sure to follow Sprint Car Insider on Facebook, @SCI_updates on twitter or visit our website – for or all of the updates on our drivers as they continue their assault on the 2018 campaign




JJ Cox View All

JJ Cox -
Lead Contributor of Sprint Car Insider.
Sole Proprietor of Prodigy Race Promotions.
Current Freelance Announcer with educated broadcast experience.
Media Relations Advisor.
P.R Practitioner.

Fresno State Bulldog - Broadcasting and Public Relations.
Grew up going to 50+ Sprint Car races a year and Raced Motocross for 10 years.
Die Hard Dirt Race Fan
Just a rolling stone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: